Championing the diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and management 
of invasive fungal infections.



Who We Are

Our Members

Members of the MSGERC are dedicated doctors, scientists, and researchers specializing in the field of invasive fungal infection and disease. Hailing from across the globe, our primary goal is to champion evidence-based diagnoses, prevention, treatment, and management of invasive fungal infections through advocacy, education, research, and scholarship. 

Dr. Peter Pappas
Call To Action

Dr. John Perfect
Early Involvement

Board of Directors

The MSGERC is governed by an international Board of Directors. Elections are held annually.  The Board, Executive Director, and MSGERC headquarters office work together to direct the association's activities.   More information is available in the MSGERC Board Job Descriptions.

2018 - 2022 MSGERC Board of Directors

John Perfect, MD

Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, North Carolina, USA

President Elect

Luis Ostrosky-Zeichner, MD, FACP, FIDSA, FSHEA
Professor of Medicine
McGovern Medical School
Houston, Texas, USA

Immediate Past President

Peter Pappas, MD
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, Alabama, USA

Dimitrios Kontoyiannis, MD
Professor for Cancer Research
MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, Texas, USA

Marisa Miceli, MD
Associate Professor
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Member at Large
Barbara Alexander, MD, MHS
Duke University
Durham, North Carolina, USA
Member at Large
Sharon Chen, MD, PhD
Westmead Hospital
Sydney, NSW, Australia

Member at Large
Oliver Cornely, MD
University Hospital of Cologne
Cologne, Germany
Member at Large

Bart-Jan Kullberg, MD, PhD, FRCP, FIDSA

Professor of Medicine and Infectious Diseases

Radboud University Nijmegen
Nijmegen, The Netherlands

Member at Large
Tom Patterson, MD

Professor and Chief, Infectious Diseases
University of Texas HSC San Antonio
San Antonio, Texas, USA

Member at Large
Joe Vazquez, MD, FACP, FIDSA
Chief, Infectious Diseases
Medical College of Georgia/Augusta University
Augusta, Georgia

Non-Voting Members

Tom Chiller, MD
Chief, Mycotic Diseases
Centers for Disease Control
Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Beth Kassalen, MBA
Kassalen Meetings & Events

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA


Carolynn Thomas Jones, DNP

MSGERC Consulting Executive Director / Research Consultant / Nurse Planner

Professor of Clinical Nursing

The Ohio State Univ, College of Nursing
Birmingham, AL, USA (home office)


George Thompson, MD
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
University of California Davis
Education Committee Representative
Sacramento, California, USA 2018


The MSGERC maintains committees that are charged with performing necessary functions of the MSGERC in a particular area.  Their input and support is invaluable to the Board of Directors.  Members of the MSGERC are invited to contribute and join a committee.  

  • Advocacy Committee

  • Biennial Meeting Committee 

  • Clinical Studies Committee

  • Data and Epidemiology Committee

  • Doctor Fungus Advisory Board

  • Education Committee
      Social Media Sub-committee

  • Scientific Committee

Thank you to our Supporters


Follow us on social media      


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software